Leave a comment

Wrestling Pigs in a Clean White Shirt

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 18, 2012

Wrestling Pigs in a Clean White Shirt

This is our first posting.   It’s worrisome.  I wonder if I am going to have enough to say.  ( I have to admit that this is the first time that has ever been a concern.)
I will probably be the blogger.  Bill is too busy with other stuff… stuff that I don’t want to be busy with.  However, the material will come from both of us and I will be sure to let you know whose ideas you are reading, although we usually think along the same lines.To start off, I think I will tell you about our book that will be coming out in April.  We haven’t got a release date yet, but I’ll be sure to let you know when we do.Our publisher is Tate Publishing.  They have made the experience quite a bit easier than we anticipated, although I never dreamed it would take so long to turn the finished product out.  It will be almost exactly a year since we submitted the original manuscript.”Wrestling Pigs in a Clean White Shirt” is the title.  I haven’t told anyone this yet, but it was the first thing I thought of when we finished the book.  Everyone tells you that the title comes last, and that is true.  But I was really worried about it.    The book is a compilation of ‘a-ha’ events; a journal of self-discovery.

The premise is that we all start off with ideas of what we want our lives to look like.  A sexy husband or wife, a moderate to nice home, a certain set of wheels in the driveway.  We think about how many kids, how we will raise them, how we’ll handle our money, our in-laws.   With some, the subjects are talked about, analyzed and re-adjusted until we map it all out just right.    It is a ‘clean white shirt’ life.

And then, we wrestle the pig.  We quickly find that nothing is going the way we planned.  And yet, we hang on to our dream.  Sooner or later we will get a hold on it, if we do not loose sight of our plan.

That is the quintessence of the book.   Holding on while we learn.

And learning is the real goal.

Leave a Reply

