Leave a comment

What to Do on Sunday

This post is by Bill.  I told you that I would let you know who is posting! – Dy

I was not raised to honor the Sabbath in the way I now believe to be appropriate. Only now am I beginning to understand the “why” of this sacred commandment.

Over the years, I have observed that honoring the Sabbath seems to be the easiest commandment to break.  People seem very willing to rationalize any activity at all, simply by calling it “a family activity.”

I once heard that the definition of the word “sacrifice” is: Giving up something good now for something better later.    If that is true, I have to confess that keeping the Sabbath has come to be somewhat of a “sacrifice” for me.  I needed to think about what the better blessings of obeying this commandment are.  I do like having extra time to sleep and read, but beyond that, I have to admit that having to sacrifice work time or dinner out at a nice restaurant has been more of an annoyance than a blessing.

Then I started reading the scriptures and came across passages such as these:

“If thou turn away thy foot from the Sabbath, from doing thy pleasure on my holy day; and call the Sabbath a delight, the holy of the Lord, honorable; and shalt honor him, not doing thine own ways, nor finding thine own pleasure, nor speaking thine own words:

“Then shalt thou delight thyself in the Lord; and I will cause thee to ride upon the high places of the earth, and feed thee with the heritage of Jacob thy father: for the mouth of the Lord hath spoken it” (Isa. 58:13–14).

That made me think. Why does the Lord require that we should keep the Sabbath day holy? What is in it for me?

The scriptures speak of the Sabbath being a delight, a day of refreshment, for rejoicing and giving special consideration to the things of the Lord. They promise blessings as we honor our Father in Heaven on his holy day.

I have decided that the Lord gave us an awesome opportunity to increase our own spirituality. He also gave us the means by which we can become well rounded mentally, physically, socially, and spiritually. I suppose you might say that the purpose of the Sabbath is to nourish the spirit.  We are rested, refreshed, and renewed as we pause and concentrate on spiritual things. We are better prepared to meet the world and the challenges of our daily lives if we turn away from our own pleasures and delight in the Lord.

Here are two simple questions to help determine what activities are appropriate on Sunday:

1. Does it keep me from the ways of the world?

2. Does it cause me to grow spiritually?

I would like to make this observance.  In our time, God has recognized our intelligence by not requiring endless restrictions.  Perhaps this was done with a hope that we would catch more of the spirit of Sabbath worship rather than have to live by the letter of the law  .It is a test by which the Lord seeks to prove us in all things.

 

“For them that honour me I will honor”

1 Sam. 2:30

Leave a Reply

