Leave a comment

S O S

People who say they sleep like a baby usually don’t have one.
                                                                                                     ~Leo J. Burke

 
…Or a flat screen TV in their bedroom that turns itself on several times every night.

I started writing this blog at a little after 3 AM.  Most nights, when I am not worrying about my children or about how I am going to squeeze 37 activities into the four good hours of energy I might have tomorrow, I sleep well.
That is,  until the TV comes on.
Any sane person would just move the darn thing into   another room.  But it would take major wall surgery to move the umbilical cord, called a cable, which connects us to our ‘No Spin’ addiction.     Besides, how would we get to sleep at night if we move it into the other room?  (I’m only mildly joking about this.)
While I totally agree that we watch entirely too much TV (I actually used an episode of NCIS to teach my grandson an important life lesson the other day…Right! I know…sick!)  But that is a subject for another day’s blog, one that you won’t see very soon.
The problem right now is the television that turns itself on.  My husband can fix pretty much anything, but this even has him stumped.  It might be that we don’t think about it too much during the day, and then when it snaps on with an infomercial featuring noisy blender recipes, it becomes a major priority on the list of tomorrow’s ‘to do’s.’
And that might not be so bad if it only happened once a night.  Sometimes we get awakened 2 or 3 times; leading me to believe it has something to do with the DVR programming.
Anyway, once I am awake, my brain jumps into high gear.  The first thing I think of is that, tomorrow, I am going to find a pad of paper and a pencil and put it by my bed so that I can write down all the genius thoughts that come to me in the middle of the night, because the main thing that keeps me from being able to drop back off is the thought that “I can’t forget this!”   (Most of these ideas, for some reason, involve Bill fixing something or building something…don’t ask me why.)
Other nights, I think about things I want to write about.  I’ll work on it all night like a bad song stuck in my head, until the next time I sit down to write and I can’t think of anything interesting…like now.  I guess I should have lain in bed awhile before getting up to write this…
I sew things, move furniture and decorate rooms (with lots of built-ins via Bill’s help), pack for trips and make long lists of things I shouldn’t forget to take, plan new exercise routines (which never get implemented), and plan birthday and holiday celebrations right down to the napkin rings.
I wake exhausted.
We have got to figure out how to fix that TV.
Insomnia is a gross feeder.  It will nourish itself on any kind of thinking, including thinking about not thinking. 
                                                                              ~Clifton Fadiman

Leave a Reply

